Communication Department

Recording Time.jpg

The Communication Department combines theory and practical experience in the areas of Journalism, Multimedia, and Oral Communication. 


The department offers several degrees requiring 120 hours of completion: Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Journalism (students emphasize Convergence or Photojournalism as the program of study) and a Bachelor of Arts in Multimedia Communication.  A minor in Journalism or Multimedia Communication is also available. 


Students enhance their studies by serving on Student Media newspaper, web, yearbook, or radio staffs and completing an internship with an Arkansas professional media organization.