top of page

CBC Employees Recognized at Luncheon

April 12, 2017

cbc seal.png

The annual Central Baptist College Employee Appreciation and Awards Luncheon was held on Monday, April 10th in the CBC Dining Hall. Employees were treated to a luncheon prepared by Chef Jill McCollum and her staff. The Employee of the Year Award went to Chris Mitchell, Director of Safety and Dean of Students, for being selected at the 2017 CBC Employee of the Year. Along with a plaque and a monetary award, his photo will be displayed in the David T. Watkins Academic Building along with a listing of past winners. 

Nominations for this prestigious award are submitted in the form of a letter or e-mail to CBC President Terry Kimbrow personally describing how the nominee meets the following criteria: 1) Loyalty to the institution; 2) Demonstration of good work ethic; 3) Positive attitude toward fellow workers & students; and 4) Professionalism. The Outstanding Faculty Awards were presented along with a plaque commemorating the honor and a monetary award to the following: Outstanding Faculty Award to Dr. Joel Slayton, Bible Department Chair & Professor of Bible & Biblical Studies; Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award was given to Dr. Jana Jones; the Faculty Scholarship Award was given to Dr. Kateryna Ligon, Business Department Chair and Asst. Professor of Business; and the Faculty Service Award was given to Shanda New, Education Department Chair and Asst. Professor of Education. 

The following annual service awards were presented to employees who have served three years at CBC; Janice Bowen, Instructor of Mathematics; Tracy Cargile, Rental Property Manager; Jerry Clifton, Director of Physical Plant; Tasha Flynn, Head Women's Soccer Coach & Asst. Athletic Director; Taylor Foster, Maintenance Assistant; Laura Harrod, Library Clerk; Meagan Lowry, Public Relations Officer & Alumni Coordinator; Rhonda Shipp, Senior Accountant; Charlie Wagner, Maintenance Assistant; and Colby Waites, Help Desk Analyst. Five Year Service Awards went to the following: Chad Linn, PACE Department Chair & Director of Online Studies & Chair of Non-Traditional Programs Division; Chris Mitchell, Director of Campus Safety and Dean of Students; Kerry Norris, Director of Student Success; Peggy Pillow, Administrative Assistant to the President; Amy Reed, Director of Development; and Terri Waites, Financial Aid Services Coordinator. 

Ten year service awards went to the following: Ann Gardner, Communication Department Chair & Assistant Professor of Communication & Student Publications Adviser and John D. Smith, Assistant Professor of Missions. Dr. Gary McAllister, Vice President for Academic Affairs, was recognized for 25 years of service to CBC. CBC President Terry Kimbrow presented eight President's Awards to the following: the Excellence Award went to Steve Elder, Director of Institutional Effectiveness; the Loyalty Award went to Jim Turner, Assistant Professor of Music; the Professionalism Award went to Tonya Hammontree, Director of Financial Aid; the Outstanding Achievement Award went to Shanda New, Education Department Chair and Asst. Professor of Education; the Vision Award went to Tim Gunter, Fine Arts Department Chair; the Behind- The- Scenes Award went to Angela Russell, Executive Administrative Assistant to the President; the Dedication Award went to Ryan Brown, Information Technology and the Customer Delight Award went to Katie Fleming, Student Records Assistant. Two special awards were also presented by CBC President Terry Kimbrow. The C.A.R.E. Award for Creating a Rare Experience for the benefit of employees, students, and visitors was given to Lisa Padgett, Admissions Analyst. The Fred Award was presented to an employee for embodying the four principles of The Fred Factor: (1) making a difference each day, (2) having a heart for people, (3) changing ordinary moments into memorable ones, and (4) leading by example, was given to Amy Reed, Director of Development.

bottom of page